Unlearn This

I’ve been taught to hold on to you

To make you to care as much…

To teach you to love some more

That’s what a good woman does…or at least that’s what I’ve been taught

To stand by you even when you’re standing by another

Even when I’ m left standing alone

To wait patiently…or just wait

Till you learn not to lie

Till you become the man the little girl I was dreamed of

The man I read in books…the man I saw in dreams

I’ve been taught to hold on to you

To make you to care as much…

To teach you to love some more

That’s what a good woman does…or at least that’s what I’ve been taught

Now I don’t know what to do

Coz you’re nothing like the man I was told I’d meet

Nothing like the man I’ve been prepared for

You’re different and though that should still me…it tears me

For how do I love a man that loves me…everything about me

How do I love a man that’s more faithful to me than my beating heart

When all I know is to be patient while he loves another?

I’ve been schooled in all the ways of love

And none of them fit right now

None…

I thought I knew how to love you…

Now I realize that your realm of love makes mine seem warped

Yours is patient…Yours is kind…Yours is faithful…Yours is no matter what

I need to unlearn this

Format my memory of what I knew because clearly…I knew not love

I have been taught…but I have not learnt

Help me unlearn all this…and

Now teach me because I wanna love you

As you love me.

 

25/10/11

 

all rights reserved to the poet © Ang’asa Malowa

Life has taught us many things. We have so much information that we got somewhere, from someone…yet we don’t really need all of it.We need to unlearn some things before we can be fully equipped to step into our purpose. God says His people perish because of lack of knowledge.Not information, knowledge. What part of you is perishing? Your marriage, your relationships, your family, your finances…put all the information away and seek knowledge…His knowledge. It’s what will save your life. Let Him take it all away and teach you how to love Him, how to love your family, your S.O. even your enemies because He known love better than we do…He is love. Baraka!!!

Leave a Reply

