Closure

Its time to close a chapter
Time to kill the flames
Time to build back the bridge shattered by the raging waters
Not everyone who cut you
Turns to bind your wounds
Some will…some won’t
But that doesn’t make the wound…
The pain, any less significant
So this goes out to you, who like me
Once hurt…have been hurting
Because all you needed was someone to see you bleeding and do something to make it stop
And no one ever did
This is for you who need closure
For the one who’s ‘friends’ set the trap that made them fall
The one whose friends turned out to be nothing they seemed to be
For one who only needed mamas love…when all she had time for was church
For one who needed a father…who was never there, even when he was
For one who needed the church…who closed their doors in their face
For one who loved and had what they gave taken…for nothing in return
Nothing but pain…nothing but a broken heart
For one who can’t trust no more…everyone they loved walked away
For one who can still remember the teachers say they’d never make it…
Never be anything worth being
For one who’s haunted by what they once were…what they once did
And for those that are so caught up in the past that neither the present nor the future
Have the life to unfold
For one who needs forgiveness from someone…from self
For one who needs to be forgiven by someone…by self
We all need some closure
If not here and now…the time will come
When you need to move on but are stuck
It took understanding and a bus load of patience and humility
To understand that in retrospect
The more I embraced the past…the more life slipped away
The more I embraced death
It may take a while to erase the written
But it all starts with a decision…your decision
To accept that sometimes we have to forgive without apology
And to set ourselves free from the guilt that stalks us
Even when no one else does
Its time to close a chapter
Time to kill the flames
Time to build back the bridge shattered by the raging waters
Now I stand to represent all who let you down…
All that broke your heart…all that walked away when you needed them to stay
All that never said they didn’t mean to…never said they were sorry
All that still hold you to the past you want no more
I stand because I’ve been there…
I stand because I’ve felt the pain…I almost bled to death
Until someone stood up for me
I stand because I know you need to hear this
I stand as they to say
I’m sorry…please forgive me…
Please, please forgive me
I stand to tell you that you can heal…will heal
And get back to the present…get back to living again
With no more baggage
I stand…to ask you to stand again
I stand to give you
Closure.

all rights reserved to the poet ©Ang’asa Malowa

4 thoughts on “Closure

  1. “For one who’s haunted by what they once were…what they once did” – i wonder and at the same time appreciate your choice of words. this is great.

Leave a Reply

