Invitation to Desire

One of the bases of my life that I have had a tough time understanding

And an even harder time acknowledging and living by

Is that Christianity is not a call to morality

Rather an invitation to desire…

At a certain well He made it clear

That He calls to give the waters that quench a thirst

In so saying, without a thirst…a desire

One cannot be quenched…filled

For how else would one eat if he knew not he was hungry?

To understand and accept that it is never about what I want…but what I need

Is a hurdle I have to contend with at every level of my life

The woman wanted water…

But knowing what she needed was love,

He offered that instead

And so He does for me, even when I feel what I want would suffice

He guides my will in submission to His own

The knowledge that my life is not actually my own many times needs reminding

And thus far, I can say that it’s true

He is faithful to complete that which he begins

To be crucified with Christ

To no longer live but let Him live in me (Gal 2:20)

That is the truth that is Christianity

To hunger for the fulfillment of a spirit and the death of a soul

No easy feat…one not solely ours to bear

For we do all things through Him…by His strength

Which is why we stand

One of the bases of my life that I have had a tough time understanding

And an even harder time acknowledging and living by

Is that Christianity is not a call to morality

Rather an invitation to desire…

To hunger for more than the water we want

To reach out for the love we need

So we press on

Falling and rising by His mercies

Knowing and trusting that at the end of it all

We will live…having fulfilled His will for us

So until forever begins

He lives in me, one day at a time.

4/12/11

 all rights reserved  ©Ang’asa Malowa

 

 

3 thoughts on “Invitation to Desire

Leave a Reply

