Today…

“I’ll be back by 5”

That’s what someone said to their kids as they left home that day

Someone knew they’d get back…they always did

So what happens when they’re late…

And its not because they’re held up in traffic…

What if that goodbye was their last?

We underestimate the levels of trust we have to give

In actuality,

We make many promises we haven’t the power to keep

Who’s to say you’ll make it to work tomorrow…back home every evening?

Who’s to say you’ll find your loved ones as you left them?

Reading through an old True Love edition, I re read a story of the August 7th bombings

It got me thinking of the Nakumatt fire…the roadside tanker explosions…the hit and runs

“I’ll be back by 5”

That’s probably what those many strangers said when they left home

Only…

They never returned.

Today, I count my blessings for the preservation of this life I have

The mercy that has enabled me keep promises I didn’t know I would

For the belief that keeps me living without the fears that can still a soul

In actuality,

We make many promises we haven’t the power to keep

So let us be grateful for those we do

Remembering those who couldn’t keep theirs

Not for lack of want…but as a result of altered circumstances

Give thanks today for that one promise you kept

That one hope you fan aflame

That future you still long to behold

Today…give thanks

Give thanks for today

3/12/11

 all rights reserved to the writer ©Ang’asa Malowa

2 thoughts on “Today…

Leave a Reply

