Almost…but You Held Me

I thought they cheered because they saw what i saw

I hadn’t known they had daggers held tight just waiting for the arena to open up

Just waiting for the right moment when what they’d cheered on would block my sun

…and in that moment ;they would strike

They almost had me..

Almost…but You held me

Now i know my mornings with You still the voices

Now i know my time with You covers me

You saw what i couldn’t…I saw their earnest faces…You saw their plotting hearts

Thank You for being the shield that held back the fiery arrows

Thank You for being the cover that kept me…

They almost had me..

Almost…but You held me

David’s psalm holds true

Now i have seen that though many are they that trouble me….rise up against me

I fight no man…For thou oh Lord are a shield for me

You’re my glory…

You lift my head.

© Ang’asa Malowa

13/7/12

 

Leave a Reply

