This Part

‘Break me, make me, rebuild me…’

‘You are all I want…’

‘Take my life and let it be consecrated to thee’

‘I am Yours…’

All these things i say…I sing

All these things I commit to do

At all these things I fail… I fail… I fail

I have had no right to make promises I could never keep

I have had no right Lord, none

Now I stand faced with shattered pieces of what I said but could not do

Now I wonder how to navigate the shards around me back to where it all started

Back to where all I dared to want… was You

All I know is I need you to forget I said all these things

All these beautiful promises I made as though I could keep

I need you to forget what I said…

I need you to save me from myself

Now I see I cannot hold up to Your own without You

I cannot keep these promises; I don’t have what it takes to

Forget it all, just remember this:

I need thee…oh, I need thee

Every hour I need thee

I need thee

Remember only this

This part…this part

This part is true

©Ang’asa Malowa

3/10/13

Leave a Reply

