With this Ring…

Mama said not to tell a lie

And if I spoke that which my heart did not fully consent

I would be guilty…

Guilty of holding you to a promise I’m sure will not keep

Not without sucking the yellow out of us

That I love you…that I’d want to marry you-

Of that there is no doubt

Just as there’s none on our paths drifting away

With each dawn comes a new distance…a distance we cannot will away

To say I love you, to say I love you

Yet cause you to see through eyes whose pictures you would never understand

Yet be the voice constantly speaking of what you should be…

Because to celebrate who you are

To celebrate who you are would be painting over who I am

To say I love you, to say I love you

Yet fear to ask… for the knowledge of what you would say, I have…I dread

Yet hold my love to your head and force you upon paths, waters you clearly dread

To say I love   you, to say I love you

Yet watch each day as I pushed you further into what I’d vowed to draw you from

A vow made from a heart desperate to love whom it should not…to save whom it cannot

Yet try to be the savior I can never be…the savior you would never see

To say I love you, to say I love you

Yet watch you die … and me with you

Just so to have said

With this ring…

With this ring I thee wed

Would be saying what I do not mean

I want us to be…trust me; I do

But to let you marry one who would forsake faith, forsake love bought by life

One who would forsake all for man…

Would be bringing judgment upon the head of one I love

And that I cannot

I love you, I love you

Mama said not to tell lies

And if I spoke that which my heart does not fully consent

I would be guilty of holding you to a promise

A promise I’m sure will not keep just so to say

With this ring…

With this ring I thee wed

To speak this would be death to one I love

And by my hand I swear, you shall not die

Because I love you

I bid you goodbye

For to let you marry one who would forsake faith, forsake love, forsake all

Would be bringing judgment upon the head of one I love

And that I cannot

©Ang’asa Malowa

10/7/13

Leave a Reply

