Lead me Back | The Rugged Cross

I do not know when or how i lost sight of you
Can’t tell when i traded that familiar weight…
Can’t tell when the thought of a pure heart stained dark failed to run a shiver down my spine
I do not know how i forgot the pain a million voices could not explain
…do not know when last my heart clenched when i looked up at the rugged cross
The filters set in casting glows so i could no longer see where the nails drove deep
…where the thorns ripped in
…where three words and a life set me free
The fog has settled in hazing everything in blacks and blues
Clouding, where once so clear, crimson scars held my gates open
I cannot explain how. I have tried
But there was that one moment when everything that was suffocated
That moment when i lost sight of you
I do not know when or how
But i can not bear to look and see the rugged cross no more
To be without your yoke, floating from wind to wind
…i cannot
Not anymore
Here in this hollow i stand…my sight has since blurred from blizzards past
I can no longer see
But if it gets me back to the foot of that hill
That hill from whose bottom i can look up and see the rugged cross once again
See it and feel my heart stir back to life as that familiar weight dawns on me….
If it gets me back, even without sight i will crawl
Lord i will crawl
Praying with each breath that even in this pit
I will still find that one road that leads me back
That one road that leads me to the cross

16/3/15

Leave a Reply

